Mission Statement

The Mission of the South Texas Institute for the Arts (the Institute), doing business as the Art Museum of South Texas, is to operate educational facilities and an art museum which advance the awareness, knowledge, appreciation and enjoyment of the visual arts for residents and visitors of South Texas.

To meet its educational mission, the Institute will present a variety of programs which include classes, lectures, films, performances and other activities which inspire community interest in the visual arts. These programs will be offered at the Art Museum of South Texas, the Antonio E. Garcia Arts and Education Center, and other outreach venues that serve the Institute’s mission.

In operating an art museum, the Institute will actively collect, conserve, exhibit, research and interpret outstanding works of visual art with interest in art of the Americas and of the region.

Core Values

The Art Museum of South Texas (AMST) respects, values, and celebrates the unique attributes, characteristics, and perspectives that make each person who they are. We believe that our strength lies in our diversity among the broad range of members and visitors we represent. We consider diversity and inclusion a driver of institutional excellence and seek out diversity in our education and exhibition programming with intentional thought and action. Therefore, it is our aim that our members, donors, Museum staff, and Board of Trustees reflect and embrace these core values.


See how two internationally acclaimed architects come together.

Explore the History

Rent the Facility

A unique backdrop for any formal occasion including weddings, receptions, corporate parties or special events.

Plan your Event

Welcome to AMST

Welcome to the Art Museum of South Texas.  I thank you for visiting our website and I hope that your online experience has sparked a creative interest that will inspire you to pay us a visit.  An hour, or longer, spent in our galleries is certain to entertain, enlighten and energize the senses.

AMST is celebrating 50 years on the Corpus Christi Bay this year.  The original complex, designed by world-renowned architect Philip Johnson, opened to the public in October of 1972.  To honor our past, celebrate our present, and plan for our future, we have created an exciting selection of exhibitions and educational programs.   Whether you are looking for hands-on family programs, lecturers, artists talks, social opportunities, or deep delves into the study of art, AMST can provide those opportunities – whether via the web or, we hope, in person.

We are honored to serve as THE fine arts institution for the Coast Bend region.  Welcoming over 100,00 visitors annually, we strive to provide a unique selection of cultural offerings for our guests.  Thank you for your interest in the Art Museum of South Texas and for your support of the arts.





Sara Sells Morgan


Past directors

  • 1959-1960     Rowena McNeel
  • 1960-1961     Pati Reiss
  • 1961-1980     Cathleen Sparks Gallander
  • 1981-1987     Richard Collier
  • 1988-1989     Marilyn Smith (Interim Director)
  • 1989-1990     Albert Augustus Teller
  • 1991-1992      Lillian A. Murray
  • 1993-2007     William G. Otton
  • 2007-2019     Joseph B. Schenk
  • 2019-              Sara Sells Morgan



Centennial Museum

  • Corpus Christi turned over its Centennial Museum to two local art organizations, South Texas Art League and The Corpus Christi Art Guild.
  • The first documented Corpus Christi Art Foundation exhibit sponsored by Corpus Christi Caller-Times and was held on the Mezzanine Floor of the Driscoll Hotel
  • A petition was created and approved by the city to turn the building into a Center for the Arts under the Corpus Christi Art Foundation.
  • The building is renamed the Centennial Art Museum and there was a large increase in museum activity.

The Art Museum had outgrown its space, and a group of prominent civic leaders and philanthropist began a private sector movement to fund and build a new art museum


1972 Art Museum Area
Art Museum Area in 1972

  • 1902 Shoreline – AMST Philip Johnson Building opens to the public
  • The Art Center of Corpus Christi in South Bluff Park is created at 100 Shoreline, in concurrent with the opening of the Art Museum of South Texas.
October 4-6, 1972

The opening festival of the Art Museum of South Texas building on Shoreline Drive is held.


Several large-scale Modernist works were accepted which easily fit into the museum’s gallery spaces.


Dorothy Hood is shown at the Art Museum of South Texas in Corpus Christi


1986 Museum Office
Museum Office in 1986


The Legislature of the State of Texas appropriated special funding to have the Art Museum of South Texas affiliated with Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi and administered as a cooperative joint venture


The Corpus Christi Creative Arts Center and Center for Hispanic Arts merged with the Art Museum under the auspices of the South Texas Institute for the Arts.


Art Museum of South Texas in Corpus Christi acquired a major portion of Hood’s estate including her archives and studio contents.

  • A major expansion designed by internationally renowned architect Ricardo Legorreta, doubled the gallery and exhibition space of the Art Museum. The expansion was funded by private sector donations and community support.
  • William G. Otton retires as director of the Art Museum of South Texas
October 2007

Joe Schenk becomes director of the Art Museum of South Texas


Art Museum of South Texas engaged Susie Kalil to serve as Guest Curator and Author for the Dorothy Hood Project.


The Color of Being/El Color del Ser: DOROTHY HOOD (1918-2000)” the major retrospective exhibition opens at the Art Museum of South Texas, Corpus Christi.


Los Tejanos: Chicano Art from the collections of Cheech Marin exhibitions opens.

June 2019

Joe Schenk retires at director of the Art Museum of South Texas

December 2019

Sara Sells Morgan becomes director of the Art Museum of South Texas

2022 Board of Trustees


  • Kimberly Stockseth, Chair
  • Gustavo “Gus” Barrera, Immediate Past Chair
  • Pam Brower, Chair-Elect
  • Jennifer Grove, Treasurer
  • Philip Ramirez, Secretary


  • Leslie Adami
  • Jason Aigner
  • Jordan Anderson
  • Nelwyn Anderson
  • Adair Apple
  • Mary Ann Cavazos Beckett
  • Deven Bhakta
  • Ruben Bonilla, Jr.
  • Tom Brookshire
  • Kyle Broughton
  • Emily Buescher
  • D’Anne Buquet
  • Judge Barbara Canales
  • Louise Chapman, Emeritus
  • Charlene Chessir
  • Kresten Cook
  • Kylie Cooper
  • Philip “Phil” Denniston
  • John Dykema
  • Audrey Eden
  • D. Scott Elliff
  • Derrick Frazier
  • Dr. Robert Furgason
  • Amanda Garcia
  • Sofia Gignac
  • Celso Gonzalez-Falla, Emeritus
  • Jennifer Grove
  • Mayor Paulette Guajardo, Ex-Officio, City of Corpus Christi
  • Nancy Hawn
  • Gloria Hicks
  • Catherine Tobin Hilliard
  • Mary Hime
  • Ben Holland
  • Janie Hoskins
  • Rose Royce Huegele
  • Al Jones, Emeritus
  • William “Bill” Jue
  • Natesh Kumar
  • Shyqeri “Shoocha” Kuqi
  • Mark LaRue
  • Leanne Libby
  • Lesley Lomax
  • Marco Longoria
  • Dr. Melissa Macias
  • Alyssa Barrera Mason
  • Sandra McBurnett
  • Trey McCampbell
  • Kayla McMains
  • Dr. Kelly Miller, Ex-Officio, President, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
  • Sara Sells Morgan, Ex-Officio, Director, Art Museum of South Texas
  • Nancy Morrow
  • Laura Nelson
  • Patty Nuss
  • Judge Robert Pate
  • Setal Patel
  • Armi Pigott
  • Jeff Pollack
  • Norberto “Bobby” Rodriguez
  • Marcy Rodriguez
  • Roberta Rodriguez, Ex-Officio for Mayor Paulette Guajardo
  • Dr. Edward Schiller
  • Sharon Sedwick
  • Toby Shor
  • Brad Snyder
  • Tim Stephens
  • Celika Storm, Emeritus
  • Tinker Trombley
  • Karen Urban
  • Todd Walter
  • Jo Vann Weichert
  • Seth Weiland
  • Fernando Yarrito
  • LaJuana Zanoni




Become A